Last update: May 13 2010, 11:57 PM

2 Bicol govs who jumped Lakas ship win

May 13, 2010

TWO GOVERNORS WHO LEFT THE administration party during the election season led a set of winners in Southern Luzon as tallies continued despite hitches in some areas.

Luis Raymund Villafuerte, who defected to the Nacionalista Party from the Lakas-Kampi, won reelection to a third term as governor of Camarines Sur, one of the most vote-rich provinces of the Bicol region.

Jose Ma. Salceda, who defected to the Liberal Party weeks before Election Day, also won reelection as governor of Albay province.

Vilma Santos-Recto won reelection as Batangas governor handily. Juanito Victor Remulla won as governor of Cavite. Emilio Ejercito won as governor of Laguna. David Suarez won as governor of Quezon.


Carmencita Reyes is governor of Marinduque. Josephine Sato is leading in the gubernatorial race in Occidental Mindoro. Alfonso Umali is governor of Oriental Mindoro. Eduardo Firmalo is governor of Romblon.

In other areas in Bicol, Joseph Cua leads in the gubernatorial race in Catanduanes. Rizalina Lanete is leading in Masbate. Raul Lee is governor again of Sorsogon.

In Puerto Princesa City, the board of canvassers proclaimed Wednesday night incumbent Mayor Edward S. Hagedorn as winner.

Hagedorn was the runaway winner over his closest rival, Vice Gov. David Ponce de Leon, posting a margin of over 27,000 votes.

Hagedorn first served three consecutive terms as mayor of Puerto Princesa before losing a bid for the governorship.

A year later, he won a recall election in the city and then proceeded to complete another two consecutive three-year terms.

Hagedorn’s opponents tried to block his candidacy at the Comelec, arguing that he was over his term limits.

The Comelec, however, ruled in favor of Hagedorn.

Lucena delay

In Lucena City, the board of canvassers on Wednesday midnight decided not to proclaim Barbara Ruby Talaga as winner after Vice Mayor Philip Castillo questioned whether she was a valid substitute for her husband, Lucena Mayor Ramon Talaga Jr., who was disqualified.

“The board of canvassers will decide when we receive the Comelec order,” said Comelec Lucena chief Josapet Butingan.

Castillo’s supporters wore yellow and black at a vigil in front of the Lucena City Hall.

In the Palawan gubernatorial race, a legal controversy stalled the final tallying of votes and the proclamation of winners by the Comelec.

Status quo ante

Lawyers of gubernatorial candidate Jose Chavez Alvarez asked the Comelec to postpone the final tallying of votes and the proclamation of winners until the Supreme Court has ruled on the disqualification case filed against gubernatorial candidate Abraham Kahlil Mitra.

The Comelec has set oral arguments prior to resolving the dispute, even as it awaits the transmission of results from at least 11 more clustered precincts.

Alvarez’s counsel, Tomas Timbancaya, argued that the Supreme Court’s “status quo ante” order on Mitra’s disqualification also prohibits Mitra from being officially proclaimed until the case is heard and resolved by the high court.

Mitra was deemed disqualified by the Comelec a week before elections on the basis of a petition by his opponents who questioned his residency in Aborlan, Southern Palawan.

Losers, winners

Three-term Gov. Joel T. Reyes is lagging behind lawyer Victorino Dennis Socrates for the congressional seat in the second district in the tallying being conducted by the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV) with over 80 percent of total precincts counted.

In the 1st district, incumbent Rep. Antonio C. Alvarez has posted an insurmountable lead over Vicente Sandoval in the same PPCRV count.

Redempto Anda and Delfin Mallari Jr., Inquirer Southern Luzon

©2010 www.inquirer.net all rights reserved

Send your feedback here

< Back